Inbox

Within the Inbox, your institution can start, see, respond to, and manage support cases. The All cases drop-down menu allows filtering for My cases, Unassigned, and All cases. Below these options are the inboxes for each group you belong to, allowing easy access to cases forwarded to a specific group. These groups include all groups in Banno Settings with the Manage conversations permission enabled. A robust search tool is available that enables searching and filtering of the case list. Selecting Search and filtering options displays advanced search options.

Case management features are available in this view from the collapsible sidebar, such as assigning the case to yourself or another representative and changing the status of a case. Representatives can select multiple check boxes in the inbox to modify several cases at one time.

Available statuses include:

New
An unread and unassigned conversation. Once a support representative replies to this message, the status changes to Open and it cannot be changed back to New.
Open
Once a support representative sends a message or replies to a case, it becomes Open and is automatically assigned to the representative who started or replied to it, if no one else was assigned to the case.
Pending
When an end user responds to a case, it becomes Pending. Pending cases are those that are awaiting support representative action. Changing the status to either Open or Closed exits Pending status.
Closed
The support representative closes the case manually when no further action is required. Cases only show as closed for support representatives, not end users. A case can be reopened after closing. Closing a case can be thought of as a way to filter resolved cases out of view. To reduce friction for end users, they can always respond to any case. If they respond to a closed case, the status changes to Pending and participating support representatives are notified.

Starting and replying to a conversation

Both your institution and end users can start a conversation. Starting conversations with end users allows your institution to finish a process started on the phone or in person, deliver documents, or preemptively reach out for security concerns.

Selecting Start a conversation in Banno Support allows your institution to search for and select a message recipient and compose a message. This will automatically assign you to the case.

When replying to or starting a conversation, support representatives can add saved replies created in Settings or add attachments using the icons. Support representatives can also select Switch to internal note mode from reply mode in a conversation to add notes to the conversation that the end user can’t see. Internal notes are styled differently than normal messages for easy identification and are especially useful when reassigning a case or closing a duplicate.

End users can start a conversation in multiple ways:

  • Selecting Conversation from the Dashboard.
  • Selecting Conversation from the Messages card or screen.
  • Selecting Conversation from the Support option.
  • Selecting Ask us about this account/transaction on an account or transaction.

When an end user opens a new conversation window, three of the most recently active support representatives’ avatars, as well as the headline and description text defined, appear. Once sent, the message is then added to the end user’s Messages list. The support representative’s bio, established in Banno Settings or when the user is initially onboarded into banno.com, appears upon assignment with the avatar, name, location, and bio text.

Attachments

In a conversation, both end users and support representatives can attach images and files. End users can attach transactions or accounts and support representatives can request that end users attach individual accounts and transactions. The ability to add attachments within a conversation adds context and eliminates confusion revolving around the problem, resulting in faster and better service. End users can search for specific transactions and accounts, as well as select multiple items at a time from this screen.

Forms

When attaching a form, you can choose from forms already created in Form Builder. If your institution has not yet created any forms, the Form attachment option will be disabled with the message “Your institution has no forms to attach”.

Editing and removing messages

Hovering your cursor over a message will reveal edit and remove buttons, if available. The actions available are based on the type of message.

Edit

Available for:

  • Messages sent by the authenticated support agent
  • Internal notes sent by the authenticated support agent

Clicking the edit button reveals an inline editor, allowing you to edit the message directly using the normal editor options. The Nevermind button allows you to discard edits and exit the editor, while the Save changes button will save your changes to the conversation. The Save changes button is only active after changes have been made to the message or note.

After editing a message, an (edited) tag will be attached to the message, viewable by both support agents and the end user. Users in Banno Support can click this tag to view the full editing history of the message, while end users cannot view edit history.

Remove

Available for:

  • Messages sent by the authenticated support agent
  • Internal notes sent by the authenticated support agent
  • Messages received from the end user
  • Messages sent by other support agents
  • Internal notes sent by other support agents
  • Images, files, and other attachments from end users or any support agent

Clicking the remove icon produces a confirmation box. After confirming the removal, the message will be replaced with a removal message, and the associated avatar will be replaced with a removed avatar. Authenticated Support users will see “Message Removed” or “Attachment removed”, and clicking the message will allow that user to view the original message and the edit history. End users will see “Message has been removed by Support agent name”, allowing the user to see who deleted the message.

While the timestamp of the removed message will not be changed, apps will respond gracefully if the removed message is the most recent in a conversation. Anywhere that a Most recent messages item can be viewed, such as the case list or a user’s Messages dashboard card, will show the most recent message before any deleted messages. The removal text will only be shown as a Most recent message if the deleted item is the only message in the conversation.

Notifications

When an end user starts a new conversation, support representatives can receive an email from noreply@banno.com or a push notification if Banno Support is open, which links to a conversation.

For end users, when they are active in the app and a new message is sent to them, they receive a push notification (if enabled) in near-real-time. If the end user does not view the message within ten minutes of it being sent, an email is sent notifying the end user of a new message in their app.

Form submissions

Forms submitted by users can also be found in your inbox. All form submissions will be labeled with the form title as set in the form builder. While these appear similar to a normal case, there are a few noteworthy differences.

User profile

As form submissions are not authenticated, form submissions are not tied to a user profile. If the form includes a field for a user’s name, the name will be presented where the profile normally appears, but this will not tie the case to any existing profile.

Message format

The primary message will include all of the data from the submitted form. Any form fields with the Describes primary form applicant? option enabled will appear above a line break using the following icons:

  • Name
  • Email
  • Phone number
  • Address

The message also has an export icon in the upper right corner, allowing you to download the form’s responses in csv format.

Internal notes

Because form submissions are not tied to a user profile, you cannot reply to a form submission from Support. Instead, the text entry can only be used to add internal notes to the case.


View our How-to guide