← Settings
View our How-to guide

Offline mode

It takes one incident for end users to immediately contact and overwhelm your support staff—chaos everyone tries to avoid! Offline mode quickly informs existing end users they may encounter unavailable features during planned maintenance, a connectivity issue, or an outage. Proactiveness goes a long way, and Offline mode prepares end users for their digital experience should your institution or NetTeller go offline.

Enable, change, or confirm permission

Because you control who can internally enable Offline mode, ensure the appropriate group has permission within   Banno Settings. Under the Banno People permissions, select the Manage everything – users, messages & settings permission.

Without this permission, users within the group have read-only access to Offline mode.

A user with the Manage everything – users, messages & setting permission sees and manages every Banno People option at the institution level. When the permission is enabled, all other permissions under the Banno People heading will be enabled automatically.

Functionality

Because your institution controls Offline mode, you’re ready to immediately notify end users whenever necessary.

  • Settings
  • Offline mode
Enable
A toggle that determines visibility of the notification message to end users.
I’m sure
Confirms your decision to enable Offline mode.
Nevermind
Returns you to the settings page with the Enable toggle disabled.
Notification message
A customizable statement placed at the top of Banno Online alerting all end users to the possibility of unavailable features.
Save
Saves edits made to the notification message and is disabled until you update the notification message.
The aggregation of users’ transaction history and balances that NetTeller Offline Mode provides, as well as the ability to login during downtime, is native functionality within the Banno platform from the get-go. Available features will vary based on the nature of the outage.

Enable

Enabling Offline mode makes the notification message visible to end users. The last saved notification message will display, so make sure your message is up-to-date.

Disable

Disabling Offline mode removes the notification message’s visibility from end users. Offline mode should remain disabled unless end users need to know your institution is offline.

Notification Message

Enabling Offline mode makes the notification message appear to end users. Starting with the login window, the notification message displays as a banner notification across the top of every window on Banno Online.

When you enable Offline mode, you’ll confirm your decision in a confirmation dialogue. After you select I’m sure in the confirmation dialogue, make sure your notification message is up-to-date.

When you update the notification message, a success or failure message appears. If you choose not to update the notification message, the last saved notification message displays to end users.

End users can’t dismiss the notification message. To remove it, disable Offline mode.

End users will usually give you some grace when they view a friendly notification message. With a 175-character limit, you’re welcome to use the following notification messages or create your own:

  • We’re currently performing required system maintenance. Some features may not be available after login.
  • Digital banking is temporarily unavailable due to scheduled maintenance and will return [date and time].
  • [Institution name] is currently offline for scheduled maintenance.

If the end user has an outdated browser, a notification automatically appears at the top of the app. If Offline mode is enabled, Banno Online displays both notifications stacked on top of each other and styled the same way.

Banno History

Banno History records all actions where changes are made across all Enterprise apps. When you make a change to Offline mode, a history event generates and documents your first and last name, date and time of the action, IP address, and one of the following Offline mode changes you made:

  • Enabled
  • Disabled
  • Updated the notification message, including both the previous and new messages

Banno Online

In the app’s younger days, end users of banks using NetTeller and Banno Online occasionally had login issues. If an institution or NetTeller went offline, end users couldn’t access their accounts. Those were rough moments for everyone. Since then, not only did we create a solution allowing existing end users access to log on 24/7, but we also added a notification message so that institutions can immediately notify end users of any issue at any time. The notification message also prepares end users should they encounter an error message during their digital experience.

Because of the different end user login experience between Banno Online and Banno Mobile, Offline mode applies only to Banno Online. Online end users must enter their credentials with every login, while the majority of Mobile end users remain authenticated even if they aren’t using the app.

Offline mode doesn’t impact success or error messaging for features in Banno Online. It simply notifies end users upon login that they may encounter unavailable features and shows a notification message at the top of every window in the app. Because each feature in Banno Online has its own success and error messaging, end users easily know a feature’s availability after they attempt a task.

End user experience

Existing end users

An existing end user is someone who has previously enrolled or logged on to Banno. When your institution enables Offline mode, an existing end user can successfully:

  • Log on to Banno Mobile 24/7.
  • Access available features.
  • View their most recent account information synced from the Banno layer.

New end users

A new end user is someone who hasn’t enrolled or hasn’t previously logged on to Banno. When your institution enables Offline mode, a new user’s experience differs from an existing user’s experience. On the login page, the notification message still shows to all users, but a new user who attempts to log in receives the following error message, “Oops! We’re currently in maintenance mode and are unable to process your request. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please try again later.”

A new user can successfully log in when Offline mode is disabled.

Banno Mobile

Offline mode doesn’t affect Banno Mobile login functionality, and Mobile end user account information stays current up to the last available aggregation. Unlike with Banno Online, the majority of Mobile end users remain authenticated after login. Mobile end users need only to enter their PIN or use their biometrics to access their accounts.

Similar to Banno Online, Offline mode doesn’t impact success or error messaging within Banno Mobile. When end users access their accounts, the messaging process is analogous between both apps:

  • Each feature within the apps already has its own success and error messaging, so end users easily know a feature’s availability after they attempt a task.
  • New users are unable to enroll when NetTeller or the institution is offline.
  • In the event of a login failure, end users view a specific error message explaining why their login failed.

FAQ


Can Offline mode be automated or prescheduled?
Since Offline mode is used for a wide variety of use cases, including those we can’t predict or detect, Offline mode cannot be automatically enabled. Prescheduling Offline mode is not available, but you can submit a New Feature Request for consideration of this enhancement.
Which features are available and unavailable in Offline mode?
Feature status depends on the incident, so we can’t say with certainty that a feature is available or unavailable. Because each feature has its own success and error messaging, end users easily know a feature’s availability after they attempt a task.