← Authentication & security

Offline mode end user experience

View our How-to guide

Because of the different end user login experience between Banno Online and Banno Mobile, Offline mode applies only to Banno Online. Online end users must enter their credentials with every login, while the majority of Mobile end users remain authenticated even if they aren’t using the app.

End user experience

Existing end users

An existing end user is someone who has previously enrolled or logged on to Banno. When your institution enables Offline mode, an existing end user can successfully:

  • Log on to Banno Mobile 24/7.
  • Access available features.
  • View their most recent account information synced from the Banno layer.

New end users

A new end user is someone who hasn’t enrolled or hasn’t previously logged on to Banno. When your institution enables Offline mode, a new user’s experience differs from an existing user’s experience. On the login page, the notification message still shows to all users, but a new user who attempts to log in receives the following error message, “Oops! We’re currently in maintenance mode and are unable to process your request. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please try again later.”

A new user can successfully log in when Offline mode is disabled.