Travel notices ensure uninterrupted use of cards while traveling domestically or internationally. Sharing trip details such as location, start date, and end date in advance with institutions through a travel notice prevents frozen cards, which can happen with a purchase made outside of a normal location.
How it works
Through advancements in chip card technology and fraud prevention capabilities, most fraud prevention departments already know when people are traveling. However, travel notices add an additional layer of accuracy, ease stress in relation to travel, and reduce support time.
Travel notices are only available for SilverLake financial institutions with the CPS debit card platform and JHA’s Fraud Center. If your institution uses a third-party switch (not PowerLink), the travel information is only informational and isn’t monitored for fraud.
Your institution can enable travel notices in Banno People within the Card management option on the Permissions menu. This feature is tied to the card management ability. If card management is disabled, travel notices are hidden for the end user. Once both Card management and Travel notices are enabled, your institution can select Add travel notice to add a notice for an end user. Once notices are added, your institution can edit or delete them from Banno People.
Adding and modifying travel notices
- Travel notices
End users can set travel notices in a matter of minutes by selecting the destinations, dates, and cards they are going to use. They can select more than one card on a single travel notice to ensure that all cards used for that trip are covered. An email is sent to end users when they add a travel notice. Once travel notices are added, end users can edit or delete the notices.
If no cards are available or if a card is in a hot or inactive status (but not currently set up with a travel notice) and there are no other active cards, no available cards appear.
When setting up a travel notice, inactive and hot cards are hidden from the list of available cards. If a card with a travel notice on it becomes inactive, the travel notice stays in the list on the Travel notices screen, but the status updates. End users can’t change the destinations or dates for inactive cards, but they can delete them.